Skip to Content
Technical Articles
Author's profile photo Carine Tchoutouo Djomo

ABAP at SAP TechEd in 2022

Hey everyone!

We are almost there: the SAP TechEd in 2022 is just around the corner!

SAP TechEd is THE premier tech conference for all developers, IT practitioners, professionals, tech visionaries, innovators, and leaders who are interested in gaining a detailed understanding of SAP’s portfolio of solutions, platforms, and technologies, as well as insights into their future direction.

This year, SAP TechEd is going hybrid – for the first time!

The event will consist of an in-person and face-to-face, paid event in The Mirage in Las Vegas and a global, free, virtual event.

Save the date and register Now!
November 15 – 16, 2022

The hybrid SAP TechEd in 2022 in a Nutshell: (learn more)

SAP Teched in 2022 by the Numbers:

Register now!

 

Overview of selected sessions

I would like to use this blog to give you an overview of sessions on the latest and greatest ABAP platform capabilities, such as developer extensibility, prepared by the ABAP Platform team and other teams at SAP – and also some prepared by customers and partners.

Please use the provided links to navigate to the sessions of your choice and add them to your schedule on the official SAP TechEd 2022 website.

–> Access to the full session catalog

/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/sapnwabline_930876.png

KEYNOTES

Attend the Opening Keynote with Jürgen Müller [KEY100]

[Executive Keynote, 90 min]
Hear from Chief Technology Officer Juergen Mueller how you can thrive in times of global disruption and environmental challenges, and learn from SAP’s developer advocates how easy it is to succeed with SAP technology. Community focused. Customer driven.

Scheduled on Tuesday, Nov 15 | 6:00 PM – 7:30 PM CET (09:00 – 10:30 PST)

Links: KEY100_virtual | KEY100_LV

 

Attend the Business Applications Keynote with Thomas Saueressig [KEY101]

[Executive Keynote, 60 min]
This keynote is a comprehensive glance at our product portfolio. Learn how our business applications work together to help connect fragmented processes and data end to end – the base to maneuver in today’s new normal of constant crisis management.

Scheduled on Tuesday, Nov 16 | 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM CET (09:00 – 10:00 PST)

Links: KEY101_virtual) | KEY101_LV

 

Developer Advocates Download [GS100]

[General Session, 60 min]
Join the developer advocates as they give you a download on day 1 of SAP TechEd. They discuss highlights from the keynote, things you should definitely check out while you are at SAP TechEd, and the best of Devtoberfest. This session closes with a Q&A with the developer advocates team, so don’t miss your chance to ask a question.

Scheduled on Tuesday, Nov 15 | 16:30 – 17:30 PST (Wednesday, Nov 1601:30 – 02:30 CET)

Links: GS100_virtual | GS100_LV

 

IN-APP, SIDE-BY-SIDE, DEVELOPER EXTENSIBILITY 

Learn About Our ABAP Platform Extensibility Strategy [AD106]

[Lecture, 25 min]
Our ABAP Platform strategy focuses on the different extensibility options that customers and partners are looking for: side-by-side extensibility with SAP Business Technology Platform, ABAP environment, in-application extensibility, and on-stack developer extensibility with SAP S/4HANA Cloud, ABAP environment. The focus is on cloud-ready, upgrade-stable extensions for solutions such as SAP S/4HANA Cloud and SAP S/4HANA.

Scheduled on Tuesday, Nov 15 | 13:30 – 13:55 PST (22:30 – 22:55 CET)

Speakers: Florian Wahl (SAP), Karl Kessler (SAP)

 

Get an Overview and Future Road Map of SAP BTP, ABAP Environment [AD107]

[Lecture, 25 min]
Get an overview and road map for cloud applications written in ABAP running on SAP Business Technology Platform (SAP BTP) with a focus on writing scalable, multitenant SaaS applications that use the benefit of new integration capabilities with services on SAP BTP such as the SAP Event Mesh capability.

Scheduled on Wednesday, Nov 16 | 14:00 – 14:25 PST (23:00 – 23:25 CET)

Speakers: Frank Jentsch (SAP), Paul Antunes (Taxera)

 

Build and Extend Apps with ABAP RESTful Application Programming Model [AD162]

[Hands-On Workshop (in person) in LV, 120 min]
Do you want to build modern, cloud-ready, ABAP-based applications or extensions on SAP Business Technology Platform? Then ABAP RESTful application programming model is the right choice for you. Join us to learn how to use the latest and greatest ABAP capabilities, such as the enhanced core data services and ABAP programming language with its entity manipulation language and business services, to build transactional SAP Fiori apps. Focus is on the back-end implementation of SAP Fiori apps.

Scheduled on

  • Tuesday, Nov 15 | 11:00 – 13:00 PST (20:00 – 22:00 CET) **sold out**
  • Wednesday, Nov 16 | 10:30 – 12:30 PST (19:30 – 21:30 CET) **almost full**

Speakers: Rich Heilman (SAP), Andre Fischer (SAP)

 

Extensibility for SAP S/4HANA: The Big Picture [DT112]

[Lecture, 25 min]
How do you extend SAP S/4HANA Cloud to meet your specific needs? What are the extensibility tools in SAP S/4HANA Cloud and SAP S/4HANA? Gain insight into the concept of extensibility. Learn about the tools that support key users and developers in SAP S/4HANA Cloud and see the extensibility capabilities of SAP Business Technology Platform. This session provides the overview you need to take advantage of the deep-dive extensibility sessions for SAP S/4HANA and SAP Business Technology Platform.

Scheduled on Wednesday, Nov 16 | 11:00 – 11:25 PST (20:00 – 20:25 CET)

Speakers: Mohan Jayarama (SAP), Fabian Krüger (IBIS Thome AG), Deepti M (SAP)

 

Develop Cloud-Ready Extensions with SAP S/4HANA Cloud, ABAP Environment [DT280]

[Virtual Workshop, 120 min]
Discover how on-stack extensibility enables you to develop your extension projects directly on the SAP S/4HANA Cloud technology stack.

Scheduled on Wednesday, Nov 16 | 00:00 – 02:00 PST (09:00 – 11:00 CET)

Speakers: Harish Bokkasam (SAP), Björn Panter (SAP)

 

Build and Extend Apps with the ABAP RESTful Application Programming Model [DT281]

[Virtual Workshop, 120 min]
Want to build modern, cloud-ready SAP Fiori apps on SAP S/4HANA or create ABAP-based side-by-side extensions on SAP Business Technology Platform? Then the ABAP RESTful application programming model is the right choice for you.

Scheduled on Wednesday, Nov 16 | 10:30 – 12:30 PST (19:30 – 21:30 CET)

Speakers: Volker Drees (SAP), Carine Tchoutouo Djomo (SAP)

 

A Customer Perspective on SAP S/4HANA Cloud, ABAP Environment [CT100]

[SAP Community Theater Session in LV, 30 min]
Hear an SAP S/4HANA customer who has participated on a proof of concept for early adoption of SAP S/4HANA Cloud, ABAP environment share his perspective on the value it brings.

Scheduled on Wednesday, Nov 16 | 14:00 – 14:30 PST (23:00 – 23:30 CET)

Speaker: Leonardo De Araujo (Beyond Technologies)

 

CUSTOM CODE ADAPTATION

How to Apply Custom Code Migration Tools in RISE with SAP [DT117]

[Breakout, 15 min]
The RISE with SAP solution comprises tools to assess the impact of custom code when migrating to SAP S/4HANA. See how to apply the Custom Code Migration app and quick fixes in ABAP development tools in Eclipse for custom code analysis and semiautomated adaptation during your SAP S/4HANA conversion. Learn how to reinforce the clean core principle for your SAP S/4HANA system to achieve cloud-ready, upgrade-stable custom code by the adoption of the released APIs.

Scheduled on Wednesday, Nov 16 | 13:15 – 13:30 PST (22:15 – 22:30 CET)

Speaker: Olga Dolinskaja (SAP)

 

INTEGRATION

Smoothly Integrating SAP S/4HANA, SAP BTP, and SAP BTP, ABAP Environment [AP204]

[Breakout, 15 min]
With the contract price renegotiation add-on for the SAP S/4HANA solution for product sourcing integrated with SAP Business Technology Platform, you can renegotiate long-term central contracts, receive renegotiations from SAP S/4HANA, and publish them to the SAP S/4HANA solution for supplier quotation management. Once the quotations are accepted, they’re sent back to SAP S/4HANA to update central contracts through the contract price renegotiation add-on.

Scheduled on Tuesday, Nov 15 | 12:00 – 12:15 PST (21:00 – 21:15 CET)

Speakers: Rashda Khanam (SAP), Bharanitharan Deivanayagam (SAP), Pugazhendi Sabessane (SAP)

/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/sapnwabline_930876.png

Hope this overview gives you some more reasons to join the event, virtually or in-person in Las Vegas.

We are looking forward to interacting with you in the different interactive formats.

In the meantime, you might have a look at the replays from last year’s event: Archives from SAP TechEd in 2021 | ABAP Sessions at TechEd in 2021.

the replays of interesting  ABAP (and non-ABAP) webcasts from SAP’s Devtoberfest in 2022.

Stay safe and healthy!

 

Assigned Tags

      Be the first to leave a comment
      You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.