Financial Planning – Changes in Microsoft Excel® Templates
With SAP Business ByDesign Release 2202 changes to the Microsoft Excel® templates for uploading data for financial planning have been made. The changes help to prevent accidental loss of data from an existing plan version or changing by mistake the default plan version. In this blog post I will further explain the reason and the impact of the change.
On a regular basis plan data is entered in the system to measure plan/actual differences and support budgeting. The plan data is uploaded in the system by using Microsoft Excel® spreadsheets. Up to release 2202 the spreadsheets included two flags, “Set as default plan version” and “Overwrite all records of this plan version”. which could easily delete accidentally the whole plan data or change by mistake the default plan version.
With release 2202 the two flags have been removed from all upload templates for balance sheet and profit and loss planning to avoid accidental changes.
These capabilities have been moved to the user interface for better control and conscious decisions to
- delete all plan data but keep plan version
- delete entire plan version including plan data
- set default
- reset default.
The capabilities have been introduced in the Planning view of the Cost and Revenue work center. Either a complete plan version or only the corresponding plan data of a plan version can be deleted by using the new action Delete. In addition, when selecting a plan version, it can be set or reset as default.
For Public Sector where Active Budget Check is in scope the flags have also been removed from the Microsoft Excel® template for uploading budget release data. The capabilities have been introduced in the same way in the Budget Release view of the Cost and Revenue work center.
This short explanation shall help to understand the reason and impact of the changes made to the Microsoft Excel® templates for uploading data for financial planning in SAP Business ByDesign.