Skip to Content

Lifecycle Management: FAQs

Table of contents

  1. What are the SAP Cloud Application Studio deployment and landscape basics?
  2. How can I connect to the Cloud Application Studio?
  3. How can I enable the Consistency Check feature in background Mode within the Cloud Application Studio?
  4. How can I check the failed logs for an Add-on?
  5. Can a solution (developed in a tenant on a higher release version), be deployed to a tenant on a lower release version?
  6. Why can’t I see the Production Bug Fix icon in my production tenant?
  7. What are the pre-requisites for requesting a change project?
  8. Why are custom fields created as part of a PDI solution not visible on the UI?
  9. Why am I not able to delete existing content/extension fields?
  10. What happens if I disable a solution?
  11. Why is data not visible in patch?
  12. When to use Split Activate v/s Right click Activate All

 

FAQs- LIFECYCLE MANAGEMENT

 

  1. What are the SAP Cloud Application Studio deployment and landscape basics?
    The SAP Cloud Application Studio is a client application installed on the developer’s computer which connects using a secure SSL connection to the SAP Cloud for Customer System.
    Please refer to the blog for further details:https://blogs.sap.com/2015/08/27/sap-cloud-applications-studio-deployment-landscape-basics/
  2. How can I connect the Cloud Application Studio to a tenant?You should have the latest Cloud Application Studio installed in your system. After this you need to configure your user and connect. Please refer to the below blog for further details:
    https://blogs.sap.com/2014/04/09/cloud-applications-studio-short-best-practice-videos/

     

  3. How can I enable the Consistency Check feature in Background Mode within the Cloud Application Studio? 

    Consistency Check is a feature wherein developer can check consistency in the background. Please refer to the below blog for further details:https://blogs.sap.com/2016/05/27/1605-new-feature-check-consistency-in-background/

  4. How can I check the failed logs for an Add-on?
    1. Open the Cloud Applications Studio
    2. Open the corresponding Add-On
    3. Go to the Implementation Manager section
    4. Go to the Version history tab as shown below
  5. Can a solution (developed in a tenant on a higher release version), be deployed to a tenant on a lower release version?

    No, downward release compatibility of solutions is not supported in PDI.
  6. Why can’t I see the Production Bug Fix icon in my production tenant?Check whether the solution is scoped and deployed successfully in the tenant. Also, ensure that the Production Fix Authorization work center view is assigned to your user.
  7. What are the pre-requisites for requesting a change project?

    Before requesting a change project, please ensure that the solutions on the source and target system are in sync and on same versions. Disable solutions that are either missing on source or on target system.
  8. Why are custom fields created as part of a PDI solution not visible on the UI?Please check whether the solution is enabled/scoped. Only on enabling/scoping a solution, the  artifacts would be visible on the UI.
  9. Why am I not able to delete existing content/extension fields?If the solution is in maintenance mode, deletion of few content types isn’t permitted. Please refer to the studio help documentation to find the content types supported in maintenance mode.
  10. What happens if I disable a solution?The solution artifacts would no longer be visible and executed in the UI. Moreover, disabling of a solution would cause loss of any BC fine tuning data configuration for the solution.
  11. Why is data not visible in patch? 

    Original and Patch are two namespaces for a given solution. Technically these are two different solutions and do not share any meta objects or data. So, if a patch is created for the first time only the design time artifacts are copied to a new namespace, the data from original solution is not copied.

  12. When to use Split Activate v/s Right Click Activate All?

Split Activate runs activation in delta mode, that means only the changed items are activated thus saving time. However Right Click -> Activate All items on a solution level would run activation for complete solution. A Right click -> Activate all is advised to be performed for large and major development changes done in a solution version as it ensures a consistent solution for deployments.

 

 

 

To report this post you need to login first.

3 Comments

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

  1. Andrei Vishnevsky

    Great collection of very needed explanations, Jaspreet Kaur ! Thank you!

    I have a question about # 11. Does it mean the best practice is to create a solution and immediately (or very close to immediately) create a patch for it? Otherwise, the data maintained in custom artefacts (like custom business objects and SDK extension fields) will be lost once the patch created and we switch to it.

    (0) 
    1. Jaspreet Kaur Post author

       

      Hello Andrei,

      Yes, it is a best  practice to create a patch immediately after creation of original solution so as to have the data created always in the patch namespace.

      Thanks,

      Jaspreet

      (1) 

Leave a Reply