Shortcuts behavior with SAP Business ByDesign Release 1711
In this blog I will explain the differences of the shortcuts handling between the 1708 and the 1711 release of SAP Business ByDesign and especially the new html5 user interface.
In Release 1708 the html5 UI client adds tiles to the Launchpad by pressing a star icon on the target of the navigation bar item.
However, customers wanted to have shortcuts as part of the UI shell, because they can access them even if the Launchpad is not open. In addition, some of the customers missed the shortcuts, already defined by a user in the Silverlight client.
To bring the shortcuts into the shell with the release 1711 of ByDesign we add a new entry called “Shortcuts” to the navigation bar itself.
After the upgrade to 1711 and the first logon with the html5 client, the system fetches the information of the already configured shortcuts for the user done in the Silverlight client and migrates them to the new html5 client into this new “Shortcuts” navigation bar menu item.
Please mention, this is only a one-time action! Afterwards the shortcuts could be changed in the Silverlight client and/or in the html5 client but there is no synchronization between the shortcuts of the two clients anymore. The reason for this is that the new html5 client uses a different kind of persistence as the Silverlight client to decrease the startup time.
New shortcuts can be added via the “Create Shortcut” icon on any of the navigation target items in the navigation bar via a new shortcut icon.
If the shortcut icon is not offered after an item in the navigation bar this target is already defined in the “Shortcuts” item and cannot be added twice.
Adding shortcuts via the navigation bar as tiles (like in 1708) to the Launchpad will not be possible anymore with the 1711 release. However existing shortcuts, added as tiles to the Launchpad will remain as they are.
How to add new content, like tiles, etc to the Launchpad is explained in this blog.
The shortcuts can be accessed via the “Shortcuts” menu item and are grouped (as all the content of the navigation bar) between regular views, etc and common tasks.
Shortcuts can be deleted in the “Shortcuts” menu item by pressing the (cycle, minus) icon behind the description of a target.