This document describes the steps to use the new feature of code correction/pre-production fix in the Cloud Applications Studio 1608 onwards. It enables you to make changes to ABSL files and fix bugs directly in the pre-production/production system.


To use this feature, enable the PDI_PRODUCTION_FIX Work Centre View for the user.

/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/0_1019161.png

If this WCView is enabled in the Development system where the solution is in an Assembled state, you will see the following message

/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/1_1019213.png

On Test/non-Production systems, you may see a message to remind you that if you have done any changes in the non-source system, the code will have to be manually done on the source system to avoid losing the code changes when the patch is deployed from source system into Production

/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/2_1019214.png


Irrespective of the system you are in, you would see the 2 new buttons “Create Correction” and “Close Correction” as soon as the PDI_PRODUCTION_FIX Work Centre View is enabled for user.


To make a fix, click on Create Correction button.

/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/4_1019215.png

This will show a popup message as follows

/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/5_1019219.png

This means that you to make changes to ABSL files directly in the pre-production system. It is not recommended to make any changes directly into the Production tenant, but it is technically possible to do so.


You will not be able to add new fields/screens/script files/objects as part of this feature. You will see the options will be greyed out.

/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/6_1019220.png


For the existing script files, you can overwrite, add lines of ABSL script or delete existing lines of code but cannot delete the script file all together.

Also, an additional feature to Revert is available that lets you revert changes instead of manually typing it all over. This button is also available after you’ve made changes and saved the corrections.


/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/7_1019221.png

Once changes are made, you follow the usual process of activating the files and checking it in.

If fields aren’t checked in, you get the following message.

/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/9_1019223.png


You then click the “Close connection” button.

/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/8_1019225.png


NOTE: If these changes are not manually copied onto the source system from where the deployment originates, it will overwrite the changes done tothe ABSL script files.

To report this post you need to login first.

Be the first to leave a comment

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

Leave a Reply