Skip to Content
Author's profile photo DAIRO LEONARDO LOZANO RODRIGUEZ

If you like it then you shoulda put a “CLICK” on it

I recently read Tim Guest’s blog Ratings & Likes for SCN Blogs, posted 3 years ago. It called to my attention, so I decided to give a look at content in different spaces and check it by myself. 


My results were the same that he found then, so I’ll let numbers talk by themselves:


ScreenHunter_050.jpg

Why a post with 7709 visits only gets 5 likes? Or a discussion with 138.669 views only receive 241 likes. Even worst, how come a blog with 1.754 visits only receives 1 like and 1 rating? That’s just 0,057 %.


Numbers mentioned here belong to different spaces, even coffee corner, so I wonder: If people spent their time to share knowledge, achieved with hard work and years of experience, and you had time to read it and learn from it, and people spent precious time finding the way to give you a moment of entertainment and you enjoyed it, why not letting the author know it with a “Like” and express your level of satisfaction with a rate.


If we consider claps as the reward for musicians, likes and rates are the same for bloggers.  So, if you get only 0,057% feedback, is like if you have to clap yourself after singing even if 1.754 people attended your concert. I completely agree with Tim Guest. This may be discouraging even for the most experienced publisher, so imagine the effect that it can generate in a fresher blogger. 


I prefer assuming that this happens because people doesn’t know how to like or rate a blog or might find it confusing so I’ll explain how to:


ScreenHunter_051.jpg


ScreenHunter_052.jpg

Last but not least, there are three buttons that publishers should already know but sometimes they forget.  Just in case I’ll show them too:

ScreenHunter_054.jpg

Well, I just tried to tell my impressions with a little bit of humor.  Thanks for the time you took reading me and hope you’ve liked it.


Assigned Tags

      23 Comments
      You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.
      Author's profile photo Willi Eimler
      Willi Eimler

      You are absolutely right!

      Author's profile photo DAIRO LEONARDO LOZANO RODRIGUEZ
      DAIRO LEONARDO LOZANO RODRIGUEZ
      Blog Post Author

      Great..  Did you like it ? 😉

      Author's profile photo Willi Eimler
      Willi Eimler

      Yes! (I gave 5 stars)

      Author's profile photo Former Member
      Former Member

      Hi Dairo,

      Nice blog 🙂

      You are right, but not everyone seems to find the time or even note that they have the option the like/rate the blogs/discussions.

      BR,

      SImona

      Author's profile photo Matt Fraser
      Matt Fraser

      I always find it interesting when someone finds a blog relevant enough to bookmark it, but doesn't 'like' or rate it nor comment on it.

      Author's profile photo DAIRO LEONARDO LOZANO RODRIGUEZ
      DAIRO LEONARDO LOZANO RODRIGUEZ
      Blog Post Author

      Yes Matt .. I find it interesting too.  I guess, might be that it was bookmarked to be read later.

      Author's profile photo Matt Fraser
      Matt Fraser

      Just this morning, all six in a series of one of my old blogs were bookmarked, but... no likes, ratings, or comments.

      Author's profile photo DAIRO LEONARDO LOZANO RODRIGUEZ
      DAIRO LEONARDO LOZANO RODRIGUEZ
      Blog Post Author

      Don feel mad.. Sure they will come back later to like and rate it.. 😆

      Author's profile photo Jelena Perfiljeva
      Jelena Perfiljeva

      I guess it's because your blogs are so complex that one needs time to really understand them and decide whether they like them or not.

      Try something simpler, like take an SAP Help article and just add some screenshots. 🙂

      Author's profile photo Matt Fraser
      Matt Fraser

      You're right! Obviously I've been overdoing it. Now, with this new method, I should be able to pump out six blogs a day....

      Author's profile photo Graham Robinson
      Graham Robinson

      trying to find a way to favourite your comment without liking it. 😉

      Author's profile photo Matt Fraser
      Matt Fraser

      See what I did there? 😉

      Author's profile photo Jelena Perfiljeva
      Jelena Perfiljeva

      Some reasons (or excuses?) were noted in the comments to the Tim's blog - 1) people use other media or mobile devices to access SCN making it more difficult to like/rate; 2) bad location choice for 'Like' button - one has to scroll all the way up after reading. (Although this makes it easier for me to like Paul Hardy blogs before reading them. 🙂 I hope he never writes a blog about Millennials.)

      Another guess - some of the "views" are either non-unique or generated by robots or SAP employees (or robot-employees, who knows) who prefer not to have their name shown on the Like list. In the last case they should know that ratings are anonymous (well, as anonymous as anything else online).

      The worst offenders IMHO are those who instead of liking the blog post "great blog" comments that blast off emails to everyone involved. John Appleby wrote about this too.

      Author's profile photo Matt Fraser
      Matt Fraser

      I'm pretty sure there is some sort of "typical" views:interactions ratio for blogs, tweets, posts, what-have-you, and I'm sure that "typical" number is going to be in the 0.5% to 5% range for almost all forms of socially interactive media out there, though I was unable with a quick search to find any broadly appropriate statistics on that sort of thing. 0.05% feels like a very low number, though, which would indicate that either SCN users are less interactive than Twitter/Youtube/Reddit/etc users -- which seems unlikely -- or some other factor is at play. I suspect the difficulty of using SCN from a mobile device could have a big influence on that. Indeed, I found it so difficult that I gave up on SCN on mobile devices a long time ago, and I'm waiting to lured back to try again.

      Author's profile photo Custodio de Oliveira
      Custodio de Oliveira

      I think you are spot on on the "views": definitely non-unique.

      I *usually* rate everything I read. But I only *like* it if I rated 4+ stars. As for bookmarking, I do sometimes bookmark something I don't like, as it's good to have as bad examples 😀

      I would probably push the "unlike" button quite often if we had one (I'm still hopeful for SCN 3.0)

      Author's profile photo Matt Fraser
      Matt Fraser

      Ha! So you're saying my blogs are bad examples? 😉

      Author's profile photo Jelena Perfiljeva
      Jelena Perfiljeva

      Yep, just checked - view counter increases every time page is opened. So it's not like 10,000 people viewed and only 100 rated. But still I suspect the feedback-per-read ratio could be much better.

      Author's profile photo Audrey Stevenson
      Audrey Stevenson

      One other explanation could be that a catchy headline pulls people to click on the link, leading to a view, but then they are disappointed by the content they find in the post itself. Often, a higher ratio of likes to views is an indication of a post that really did get traction. As a former editor of the SCN homepage, I generally found when I was looking for a post to feature on the homepage, I could count on that ratio to help me figure out which posts to concentrate on evaluating for featuring.

      Author's profile photo Parag Pandya
      Parag Pandya

      Thats interesting.... good post...!

      Author's profile photo Michael Healy
      Michael Healy

      True on all accounts. A new blogger / contributor should be given all the credit they deserve to post again, that is if the content is worthy 🙂 .

      Author's profile photo Former Member
      Former Member

      Convensing figures!! Great job

      Author's profile photo TW Typewriter
      TW Typewriter

      Members have already mentioned this, view is view and like is like...one cannot relate both. But yes...if many many people view an "article", there is more probably that it would get more likes than an article which is viewed (much) less.

      If readers come to an article, based on a referral (they follow someone and s/he has liked the article) then maybe they would like it too.

      Personally, I want to detach myself from these "statistics"...you can say that because I donot have these kind of statistics, that I want to detach from this 😉 (I could did not get those grapes, therefore those must be sour).

      Like it says in the great books, focus on your job, your duties...

      TW

      Author's profile photo Former Member
      Former Member

      I agree Dairo. The reader should acknowledge the hard work of an author by at-least rating an article. That takes just 2 seconds!