Some customers are confused about how does the merge of communication data work. Here I will summarize the standard behavior when doing merge for communication data and relavant notes.

1. Basic knowledge for account merge:

There are 2 approaches of merging accounts:

(1) Online mode: If nodes are ONLY put in variant CLEARING, it will be displayed in “Referenced Data”.

The online merge is triggered by pressing “confirm” and then “save”.

(2) Background mode : In transaction BUSWU02, if you put the nodes in CLEAR_REP, the data will be merged as background job.

When merging the BP, you will not see the data in “Referenced Data” in merge screen.

The background merge job will be triggered by pressing “start” button.

After the background job is finished in SM37, you can see the data moved to master account.

2. The behaviors of merging communication data via Online mode and Background mode are different:

(1) Online merge for communication data:

For online merge, you are able to select which one (data of Master or Source) to be merged.

*All items which are checked (Master and/or Source side) should be visible in the Merged Account and all unchecked items should not be visible in the Merged Account.

*All checked items of the Source will be copied to the Master (they will be available in the Merged Account) and will not be deleted from the Source.

*All checked items of the Master will stay there (they will be available in the Merged Account).

*All unchecked items of the Source will not be copied to the Master and will not be deleted from the Source. *All unchecked Items of the Master will get deleted from the Master.

Regarding the last point, if you want the communication data of Master data retains even you unchecked it, you could implement the consulting note 2000885 to do the enhancement.

(2) Background merge for communication data:

* When Master and Source both has the communication data, no need to merge.

* When Master has no value into some communication such as email, it should be copied email value from Source.

* And always copy the address and replace the old standard address.

Eg.1

Master Account: #123, Street A, City A – 11111. T: 111 1111, Email: test@test.com (Standard Address)

Source Account: #234, Street B, City B – 22222. T: 222 2222, Email: test2@test.com (Standard Address)

After Merge,

Master Account: #123, Street A, City A – 11111. T: 111 1111, Email: test@test.com (Standard Address) and #234, Street B, City B – 22222. T: 222 2222, Email: test2@test.com (Non-standard address)

Eg.2

Master Account: No address / communication data

Source Account: #234, Street B, City B – 22222. T: 222 2222, Email: test2@test.com (Standard Address)

After Merge,

Master Account: #234, Street B, City B – 22222. T: 222 2222, Email: test2@test.com (Standard Address)

3. Please see also the following notes:

1539775 – Merge Accounts: Communication data of master account is lost

1259396 – Merge Accounts: communication data

2000885 – Communication data of master account is overwritten after merge     (consulting note)

2121483 – Background: Address and communication data not moved from source to target     (consulting note)

Hope the above information helps!

Thanks very much.

To report this post you need to login first.

Be the first to leave a comment

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

Leave a Reply