Skip to Content

Hi,

I was blogged by my colleague Caetano Almeida (Blog It Forward – Caetano Almeida) and I’m here today to accept this challenge and create my own blog. You can find more information about this challenge in Blog It Forward Community Challenge and add your name into the Blog It Forward (BIF) Chain if you want to join it.

My name is Marcelo Cavalcante de Albuquerque Pacheco. A long one, I know. Simply known as “Pacheco”. I was born in Sep 8, 1978 at 5 AM in Porto Alegre, the capital of Rio Grande do Sul state, south of Brazil. There was a terrible storm that night. Lived all my life there with my dad, mom, brother and sister until 2008 when I decided to move to Sao Leopoldo to stay closer to work. In my first year in the new city, I shared an apartment with 2 SAP colleagues. But then my girlfriend (wife now) and I decided to live together. Game over. Finally we got married in Nov 30, 2014. It was amazing. I got the worst hangover of my life. We have no kids yet. We have a 15 years old dog. I’m not religious. My religion is trying to be a good person. Most of the people think I’m too serious. Actually I’m reserved and not very talkative. But I swear I’m a good hearted person and very simple. I usually sleep around midnight and wake up at 8 AM. I can easily sleep after 5 minutes laid down on the bed. Sometimes I snore. I use contact lenses or glasses as I have myopia and astigmatism, but not so hard. I had a long hair already. No tattoos. Height: 1.78m. Weight: 88 Kg. Because I’m a little bit overweight, I just started to go to a gym twice a week. I intend to start running too. In this case, I promise not to post any picture on social networks. Do you like pictures of food or people running in social networks? I don’t. I used to play videogame but completely stopped when I was 14. I’m unbeatable in NHL Hockey (this was a Sega’s game). If there were a world competition, I would win. Feel free to challenge me even though I don’t play for 2 decades. I’m right handed. To kick, I use my left leg. I love eating, especially meat, fish and junk food. I don’t like salads. My breakfast is usually a black coffee with a toasted buttered bread. A normal amount of food for lunch. Only a sandwich or some snacks at night. I don’t know how to cook. I love pizzas and hamburgers (the American ones are simply the best!). I like watching TV, but only when I have nothing to do. I change the channels every 10 seconds in an endless loop until I find something interesting. Sports and documentaries about universe and nature are the best ones. Also movies I already watched dozens of times (my wife gets angry about that). I like movies with an interesting story that you keep thinking about it when it’s over. As far as I know, I’m the only person in the world that never watched Forrest Gump, but it’s still on my plans. I bet you watched it already. I like series, but only watched Lost and Breaking Bad. Started Prison Break and gave up. I love “El Chavo Del Ocho” and “El Chapulín Colorado”, watched hundreds of times since I was 8 years old and will never stop. I’m looking forward to the next series get addicted, if you have any suggestion, please leave a comment and I would appreciate. I never smoked and I just hate it. I was stolen once in my life, a guy took my wallet, clock and mobile in the bus. Never touched a gun. Never drove a motorcycle. I did paragliding once in Rio and I still can’t believe. However, I would never fly with a parachute. I don’t like roller coasters either and avoid them. It’s like a trauma after being in Space Mountain in Florida many years ago. I like driving. I like drinking beer socially, especially homemade ones. I want to live in a place with enough space to brew my own beer. I started studying English when I was 12. Besides English, I would like to learn Italian. I don’t like volleyball. I used to play and watch basketball in the 90’s when Michael Jordan was still active. I can’t understand American football and baseball rules. Sports mean just soccer to me. I play since I was a little kid. I’m completely addicted to soccer. Soccer, beach soccer, indoor soccer, table soccer, whatever. I love watching and playing. When I was a kid, I dreamed about being a soccer player. If possible, I would play every day, but I don’t want my wife to ask for the divorce. Therefore, I only play on Mondays. I’m trying to organize another weekly game. Already broke 2 fingers when pretending to be a goalkeeper. And my fibula (leg’s bone) in a tournament. I’m a Grêmio supporter, which is one of the most popular teams in Brazil. I like rock ‘n’ roll. AC/DC is the best band ever. Angus Young rocks, he inspired me to play guitar for several years. But I stopped, it was really difficult to manage time to play and also to find possible band members. My other preferred bands are Green Day, Ramones, U2, Guns ´n´ Roses, Metallica, Kiss, Nirvana, Ozzy Osbourne, Offspring, Pearl Jam, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Rolling Stones and Beatles. I use Facebook and WhatsApp, but I don’t use Twitter or Instagram. I like reading, but I don’t do it often. I prefer biographies. I love travelling to the beach. Capão da Canoa is the best one. I’m kidding, of course. Unfortunately, the state I live has no beautiful beaches comparing to the rest of Brazil. Anyway, traveling is what I like most. Visiting new places, meeting new people and eating different food are awesome. I’m always planning the next trip. If someday I win the lottery, I will travel the whole world. Here’s the list of the countries I visited so far: Argentina, Mexico, United States, England, Ireland, Spain, France, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Greece, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Czech Republic, Hungary and China. There are many other in my wish list like Peru, Chile, Canada, Croatia, Egypt, India, Australia, New Zealand, etc, etc. Indeed anyone is very welcome. It’s impossible to point out a list of the best ones I visited, everyone is special on its way. If you are planning to come to Brazil I can help you with many tips. At the university, I started studying Computer Science. But then I decided to quit and start studying System Analysis as it contained more business related subjects. I graduated in 2005. I did a MBA in Project Management in 2013. I started working in 1999. After working for several companies, I finally joined SAP in 2007 I can say that I’m very happy and proud of being part of this company. I work in Product Support in the Production Planning team (PP component).

Hummm, I don’t know what else I could talk about me. Here are some pictures of mine:

/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/tripadvisor_598085.jpg

Map of visited places

BLOG-EUA.jpg

USA – Las Vegas, Washington, San Francisco, Philadelphia, NYC,  Los Angeles, Chicago and Grand Canyon

BLOG_EUROPA1jpg.jpg

Cliffs Of Moher, Dublin, Paris, London, Barcelona

BLOG-EUROPA2.jpg

Luxembourg, Budapest, Amsterdam, Santorini, Athens, Heidelberg

BLOG-ITALIA.jpg

italia – Venice, Rome, Pisa, Milan, Florence

BLOG-VARIOS.jpg

Zurich, Lugano, Prague, Beijing, Shanghai, Chichén Itzá

BLOG-ESTADIOS.jpg

Soccer stadiums: Giuseppe Miazza, Stade de France, Bird’s Nest, Maracanã, La Bombonera, Camp Nou

est-arena.JPG

Gremio’s Arena

BLOG-SHOWS.jpg

Some concerts: U2 and AC/DC (the best ever!)

graduation.JPG

The graduation day at the university

/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/marriage_598101.jpg

My marriage (Gamer over!)

porto alegre.jpg

Map of Brazil showing Porto Alegre

/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/sap_598109.jpg

SAP building in Sao Leopoldo

Here are the anwers to Caetano’s questions:

If you were 20 again, what would you study? Biology or Law.
What do you enjoy most in your work and why? Supporting people and companies so that they can keep running their businesses.
What is your favorite musician/band? AC/DC (this was easy).

Hope you enjoyed!

I’d like to blog it forward to the following people:

Raphael da Silva

Georgia Vanin

Natalia Machado

Rodrigo Guerra

Diana Hoppe

Alvaro Raminelli

Luiz Giani

Claudenir Araujo

Gabriel Souza

Mateus Pedroso

Mateus Grings

Raul Bellina

Lisandro Magnus

Ariane Bochi

Best regards,

Pacheco

To report this post you need to login first.

7 Comments

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

Leave a Reply