Skip to Content

Project Synchronization in IDT (Able to multiple developers work on same universe at the same time)

  1. Open IDT.
  2. Click on toolbar Window\Select ‘Project Synchronization’
  3. Project Synchronization window opens up on the right hand side.

  1. Click on Session. It will prompt to enter the username (user1) and password to connect to session (Repository).

Sync1.png

4.    Click on Session. It will prompt to enter the username (user1) and password to connect to session (Repository).

Sync2.png

  1. Click on shared project to create a shared name

Sync3.png

Sync4.png

  1. Create Shared name. Shared name appear on ‘Local Project’ section

Sync5.png

  1. Right Click on ‘Sample’ shared name. Click on ‘Retrieve a published Universe’ from ‘Repository’
  2. Click on “Refresh’ icon on project Synchronization’ space.

Sync6.png

  1. Click on icon ‘Save changes to server’ and Universe will appear on the bottom of the screen with Version#1.

Sync7.png

  1. Make some changes in the universe .dfx or blx. And Refresh on the project synchronization. Notice changed version shows “Changed locally’

Sync8.png

  1. Select the .blx ‘changed locally’ and click on ‘save changes to server’ icon.
  2. Notice version# is changed to 2 of the blx on server side.

Sync9.png

  1. When ever you make changes to universe, sync with Server.
  2. Now login as second user who wants to make changes to same universe where first user also working.
  3. Click on “Get changes from server” icon to get the project. Any changes you make , keep syncing the project to server for other developers to access the latest changes.
  4. If you don’t sync the changes from the server, developers will see only “ Changed Locally”. After synching the related changes, you will see synchronization status is changed to “Synchronized”

The different synchronization statuses and what they mean are listed below.Status Description

Added Locally: The resource was added in the local project, but not in the

shared project.

Changed Locally: The resource was changed in the local project, but not in the

shared project since the last synchronization.

Deleted Locally: The resource was deleted in the local project but still exists in

the shared project.

Added on Server: The resource is not in the local project but exists in the shared

  1. project.

Changed on Server: The resource was changed in the shared project, but not in

the local project since the last synchronization.

Deleted on Server: The resource exists in the local project, but was deleted in the

shared project.

Conflicting:

Any of the following situations creates a conflicting status:

The resource was changed in both the local and shared

projects with different changes since the last synchronization.

A resource with the same name was added both in the local

and shared projects since the last synchronization.

The resource was changed in the local project, but deleted

from the shared project.

The resource was changed in the shared project, but

deleted from the local project.

Synchronized The resources are identical.

To report this post you need to login first.

1 Comment

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

Leave a Reply