Skip to Content

SAP Sourcing/CLM has numerous options to notify users of either upcoming events or personalized messages before the first usage of the product. This blog post should summarize all the possibilities of notifiying users in SAP Sourcing/CLM.

Global Message to all users

The purpose of this kind of message is to provide a message to all users that are logged into the application, in real time. This is referred to as the Global Message and it is configured at the system level and will apply to all users in the system (in a multi-tenant system, it is applied to all tenants).

The message is configured by logging in as the “system” user and choosing “Set up Global Message”. This message type is mostly recommended for system downtimes due to upgrades and/or maintenance. It is important to mention that with this option, usually the system user can set the start and end time until the message is not displayed in the UI any longer.

Global Message.jpg

Message at Login Page

Another way to provide messages to users would be via the login page prior to logging into the application. This can be accomplished
using 2 localized resources for both buyside and sellside. 
  • Usermgmt$login.securityWarning:
    This localized resource is used to provide a message on the “buy side” login page of SAP Sourcing / CLM. The message will appear just below the logon button.
  • Usermgmt$login.securityWarning.sellside:
    This localized resource is used to provide a message on the supplier portal login page of SAP Sourcing / CLM. The message will appear just below the
    logon button.

Change the localized resource with the message to the users, and save it.

Edit_localized_resource.jpg

Typically, these messages are used to alert users of pending down times or other things that may affect them once they login. There is no time limit to this option, in this case the user has to deactive the localized resource in order for this message to disappear.
/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/login_page_120808.jpg

Welcome Pages

In order to provide a longer detailed message to users announcing an upgrade configuration change, or more in-depth information about system use. These messages can be used for items such as scheduled system down time as well as more in depth descriptions of new functionality.

welcome page.jpg

Welcome Pages are a great way to provide information to the end users regarding changes to the system, either due to a system upgrade or perhaps a significant system change. Welcome pages are configured on the Company object, which means that each unique company may have a separate message. Users will see the message just once, the first time they login after the message is configured. The messages may later be inactivated when they are no longer applicable. The messages may be configured using Rich Text which allows for more advanced formatting.

/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/welcome_120814.jpg

To report this post you need to login first.

6 Comments

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

  1. Ankur Goyal

    Its nice to see this post,i have some questions about the User messages for the different usages:-

    1) Is there a way of putting a Message to the users on workbench which can give them some info about the system.

    (0) 
      1. M. RAHAMAN

        Hi Armin,

        I have followed the above mentioned and steps and if I use the hostname/ip adress for the URL I can see the notifications. But if I use the friendly URL ( configured in cluster and end users access the system with that) it does not show the notifications. Any idea please.

        Thanks,

        Mofizur

        (0) 

Leave a Reply