Skip to Content

               This document explains how to rectify the Job getting cancelled with error message “Logon of user <user id> in client xxx failed when starting a step”.

This is more useful for the beginners in SAP BW.


Generally many jobs are scheduled by users when working for a client in SAP. The job gets cancelled with the error message “Logon of user <user id> in client xxx failed when starting a step” when the authorization of the user is expired or the user leaves the organisation as shown below:

 

error msg.jpg

In this case we need to change the user name for the job. This can be done by following the below steps:

Step 1:

In SM37, select the periodic job which got cancelled and whose user name needs to be chainged. We can edit the job which is in released state.

/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/image1_101424.jpg

Step 2:

Go to ‘Job’ option in the tool bar and select ‘Change’ option.

/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/image2_101430.jpg

Step 3:

Click on ‘Step’ button in the tool bar as shown.

/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/image3_101434.jpg

Step 4:

Select the entry and click on change button.

/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/image4_101438.jpg

Step 5:

In the following screen edit the ‘user’ field by removing the user name of the user who dont have the autorization and fill it with new user name.

/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/image5_101439.jpg

Then click Save in this screen and change job screen.

By following the above steps, the job will run sucessfully from next run onwards.

To report this post you need to login first.

7 Comments

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

  1. Pradeep Kotikalapudi

    Nice document Harish,

    I am from SAP admin background, and background jobs usually fail with this reason for one of the causes listed below,

    * User gets locked : due multiple login failures, initial password being expired, locked by administrator could be some reasons.

    * User missing in the client : User might be deleted

    * User account out of validity  : When user leave the current firm, few organizations prefer restricting the validity date of the user instead of deleting them.

    as they say precaution is better than cure, when you are scheduling a new job or requesting your basis team to do this, use a SYSTEM type user as step user with valid validity date so that you need not worry about user getting locked.  A system type user will not be able to login with a dialog session and hence user getting locked are rare chances.

    (0) 

Leave a Reply