In my Importing SLD Systems to your SAP NetWeaver Portal 7.3 I showed how Portal systems can be created based on SLD systems. We called it “Importing SLD Systems”.
After importing the systems, the next phase should be keeping them updated, meaning aligned to the SLD. Since we relate to the SLD as the “source of truth” for systems’ data, it should be possible to synchronize the Portal systems according to the data held by the SLD. In this post I’d like to show you how to synchronize your imported Portal systems.
It is important to understand that in order to ensure that no data is lost or modified without intention to do so, the synchronization process is not automatic and done on-demand. The process is performed in 2 stages, so that before the updated SLD systems’ data is applied to the Portal system, you can review it and decide which of your SLD-based systems to synchronize and which attributes to modify.
The entry point for the process is the “SLD Actions” > “Synchronize Imported Systems” button. It opens up the synchronization screen, where you can see the imported systems & landscapes and review the changes that will be applied to the Portal once the process is completed. In case you want to exclude a system or a landscape so that it will stay as-is in the Portal and will not be part of the synchronization process, simply select it and click the “Remove” button.
Next to the systems in the list, you can see an icon indicating it’s state regarding the SLD. For example, a Portal system of which the equivalent in the SLD has been deleted, will be marked with a proper icon and will be deleted from the Portal once the process is finished (after pressing the “Synchronize” button).
For Systems of which the SLD system has been modified, you see an icon next to the attribute that has been changed. Note that for some of the attributes, e.g. Logon Groups, the SLD maintains a group of values while the a Portal system has just a single value for the attribute in the PCD. In such case, the Portal system will be marked as a modified system in the synchronization process only if the current PCD value is no longer in the SLD. Let me explain this with an example: let’s say a system is listed in the SLD and its Logon Groups are A, B and C and that when importing the system to the Portal (I wrote more on this in my System Landscape Directory (SLD)), you’ve selected group A. Now, when you’ll want to synchronize, the system’s state will be marked as “modified” only if the logon group A has been removed from the SLD. A change/removal of groups B or C will not apply any special state for this system.
Regarding landscape synchronization, A Portal landscape which was created in its entirety from the SLD, will update its internal structure together with the internal systems update. If the landscape structure is changed:
- If a new system is discovered in the landscape – it will be added as “New” as in the “New SLD system” wizard.
- If a system is missing from the landscape, which means it has been removed from the SLD landscape – it will be deleted from the landscape.
If a system exists but some attribute needs to be update – it will be updated internally.