Skip to Content

IBM Cloud Solutions for SAP Clients Virtual Fair

I truly believe the “cloud” may be the biggest events of our careers.  It will dwarf e-Business, y2k, rise of ERP, and overtake client/server as the dominant architecture for IT.  The only major IT event it will not eclipse is the rise of the Internet.  It will provide amazing computing power for relatively low cost.  It will not only impact our business, but will come into our homes just like the Internet.  Like the growth of Internet usage, it will achieve exponential growth.

Cloud's Expotential Growth

SAP today is not a cloud architecture.  New solutions will come out rapidly from SAP that are cloud based, but 99% of SAP’s applications are not true cloud applications – yet.  You can take advantage of the cloud, at least the Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) and Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) by encapsulating the client/server architecture in cloud architecture.  All vendors of cloud services for SAP are providing encapsulation with varying degrees of services.

Over the last year or more, I’ve had the honor of working with the IBM team to develop Cloud Services Solutions for SAP.  IBM will begin sharing its cloud solutions for SAP via the upcoming “IBM Cloud Solutions for SAP Clients” virtual event on January 27, 2011.  All the sessions are ready to go.  If you’re a client or a potential client, you can use the attached link to be invited to join IBM at this virtual event.  There is no need to drive, fly, or leave your desk.  You can bring the whole office with you at no additional cost.  Login and join us at any one of the 3 available 2-hour sessions.

Invitation

Virtual Fair Invite

Event URL: http://events.unisfair.com/rt/ibm~cloud4sap

 

At the top of the invitation is a great quote.  “The cloud is in your future.  Anyone who doesn’t realize this fact will miss out on the biggest IT revolution in decades.” (SAP Insider Special Report, July/August/Sept 2010).  I’m jealous I didn’t get the byline on this quote.  Every IT professional needs to have this at the top of his agenda in 2011.

 In addition to providing one of these sessions, “Implications of implementing SAP applications on an IBM Cloud”, I will be available in the Session #2 Q&A booth duty on January 27 from 9:00 – 11:00 a.m. EST.  Some of IBM’s leading experts will be in each of the Q&A booths.  If the virtual sessions didn’t answer your questions or you have more questions from the virtual fair, just stop by.  We’ll try to help you.

Keynote sessions are:

  • IBM Cloud Strategy Overview – Speaker: Mike Hill, IBM VP
  • IBM and SAP Cooperation – Speakers: Wolfgang Knobloch, IBM and Bernhard Schulzki, SAP SVP

 

 Breakout sessions are:

  • IBM Solutions for SAP on Hosted Cloud  – Speaker: Robert Orshaw, IBM
  • SAP CRM Rapid Deployment Solutions (RDS) on IBM Cloud – Speaker: Shailesh Rao, SAP SVP
  • Connecting SAP to external Cloud-based applications with Cast Iron Systems, an IBM Company – Speaker: Vidya Chadaga, IBM
  • Implications of implementing SAP applications on an IBM Cloud – Speaker: Chuck Kichler, IBM

       

The schedule

Session #1 Asia Pacific

  • 3:00pm Sydney
  • 9:30am Bangalore
  • 11:00pm (1/26) NYC
  • 8:00pm (1/26) Los Angeles

Session #2 Europe and Americas

  • 3:00pm Frankfurt
  • 2:00pm London
  • 9:00am NYC
  • 6:00am Los Angeles
  • 7:30pm Bangalore

Session #3 Americas

  • 4:00pm NYC
  • 1:00pm Los Angeles
  • 8:00am (1/28) Sydney
  • 9:00pm London

I hope you will be able join us at the virtual fair.  It is a great opportunity to understand more about Cloud for SAP, IBM’s Cloud Services, and IBM’s Cloud Services for SAP.  If you attend session #2, feel free to drop in and ask a question or just say hello to me in the Q&A booth, too.

1 Comment
You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.
  • just got a wireless (from the Apps store cloud) update of e3zine (on iPad only). interesting article from Mr Pendse (of OLAP report fame) about the roots of in-memory (TM1). essbase didn't get a mention for obvious reasons, so it sounds like db2 is ready for taking on you know what.

    @greg_not_so