If you are working with documents in KM you will often edit a document locally (your workstation) and if you do not complete the editing in one session you will usually close your document for later processing.
After starting your application for editing the document (I will use Microsoft Word for my example document) you will be given some choices.
Often you will ignore or forget about this and go to another page or close the browser. This is not a problem as you can navigate to the document and choose to resume local editing.
You will now have an instance of Word opening to edit you document.
The document you are editing is a working copy on your local workstation. You can see this if you click “Save As…” in Word.
If you explode the path in the dialog you can see where your working copy is located.
Lets go there and take a look to make sure the document is there.
If you for some reason work on a different workstation, your networked storage with your copy changed or an utility application cleaned your temporary folders you have lost your working copy. I will simulate this by deleting my working copy in the temporary folder on my workstation.
If you now try to resume local editing you will be told “The document could not be found on this client” which is confusing to most users as they have just clicked on the context menu for the same document the system now can’t find.
To remedy this select “Details” in the document’s context menu.
Go to “Actions” and “Cancel Checkout”
And now you can “Edit Locally” again. A warning is in place: Any modifications are lost if you cancel checkout but this is often preferable to the alternative: Locating the missing working copy which can be an insurmountable task or impossible if deleted.