Delete or Refrain a Business Partner from Usage
Most of the business transactions are handled by users who are not familiar with SAP system as software and how it operates. This generally leads to irregularities in data or even incorrect data being created.
Let’s take a scenario where the Business Partner is created in error and the business wants that they should not be able to use this Business Partner in their transaction.
There are two was to handle this situation
Flag the Business Partner for Deletion/Archival.
- Flag the Business Partner for deletion/archival.
- Delete the Business Partner.
1. Flag the Business Partner for deletion/archival.
Open the transaction BUPA_PRE_DA. Refer to the screen shot below for explanation.
Enter the Business Partner number in the Business Partner field and select the radio button “To Be Deleted” or “To be Archived” from the screen.
Control data section contains a “Test Run, Check only” flag. When the flag is checked the system will show the results of the transaction without actually saving the deletion flag for the Customer.
Execute the transaction by pressing F8 and the system will show that the Business Partner xxxxx has status ‘Flagged for Deletion’.
Refer to the screenshot below for details.
You can now execute the same transaction without having the “Test Run” flag on to really put the deletion flag onto the Business Partner.
When this Business Partner is used in the transaction an error will appear saying that the business partner is marked for deletion which should server the purpose.
2. Delete the Business Partner.
If the Business Partner has been setup in error and is not used in any transaction in the system, the Business Partner can be deleted from the system.
For deleting the Business Partner go to transaction BUPA_DEL. Refer the screenshot given below for explanation.
Enter the Business Partner number which is to be deleted and press execute. You can first use the “Test Run, Check Only” flag for confirmation and then actually delete the Business Partner by removing it.
When you press execute or F8 the business partner will be deled from the system and will no longer be available in the BP transaction.