Skip to Content
h2. *Introduction* Since it is spring, this is a good time to do a little cleanup in your NWDI. Maybe you know this situation. There are lots of old and obsolete projects in your DI but nobody bothered about them. Deleting a track out of CMS is not a big deal. But to delete every part of a track in DI a little bit more has to be done. In this Blog entry I will give you my approach on doing so. So lets get started.   h2. Prerequisites ** supported web browser ** Netweaver Developer Studio h2. Warning Since we are going to delete things in the DI, be warned, some of the steps described here, can not be reversed by simple means. And some of the tools used will not ask if you are sure. They will just do it (unix style) *If you never done this before*, backup your system (db backup) BEFORE you start. To prevent data loss in case of recovery, only delete tracks when no one is working on your DI!    h2. *Deleting a Track – Step by Step*   h3. *1. Inform all users / developers* This step is not really mandatory. But I think it is a question of style and professionalism to inform all users about the deletion of a track. And it will help you later, when you have to determine what users to delete in your system. So try to gather all relevant users and inform them that the track will be deleted soon. Ask all developers to activate or revert remaining activities with status “open” and to delete the track configuration from there Netweaver developer studio (NWDS)   h3. * 2.  Check for “open” activities and revert them* It is very important that there are no open activities in a track you want to delete. Open activities will lead to errors in tools we are going to use later. h4. * Check for open activities * *IMPORTANT:* The next step has to be done for all Software Components in your track  ->  select the /dev/inactive workspace of your SC by entering the workspace by hand or by using the …browse tool -> select the ” Open only” checkbox select your workspace -> leave everything else empty -> start the report, if you get an empty result everything is ok   In my case. I got one open activity still open  * *

*Revert them*/webdynpro/dispatcher/sap.com/tc~SL~CMS~WebUI/Cms -> switch to landscape configurator view lanscape configurator   -> select the track you want to delete select track   -> hit the “change” button to change to edit mode. -> delete the track with delete button. CMS will inform you that this will not delete the track in DTR not in dtr   h4. 4. Delete or lock users After the track is deleted, delete or lock all users which have been using this and only this track. If you have an extended security concept at place you might although want to delete the track related groups and maybe roles in the UME. h4. 5. Prepare the local DTR client The next steps requires a local DTR client. The easiest way  to create a proper DTR client is to import the development configuration in NWDS. But since we already deleted the track this is not possible. -> manually Create a DTR Client in the DTR perspective of your developer studio. create dtr client *BE CAREFUL!* This admin client is working at /ws level of the DTR. It has full access to all tracks! Things in other tracks can be deleted by accident!   h4. 6. Delete the DTR workspaces The next step is to delete the workspaces in the DTR. This can be, more or less, easily done with the DTR command line tool. Detailed info’s an be found in help.sap.com [http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw04s/helpdata/de/79/6c9f3f12e1eb0ce10000000a114084/frameset.htm | http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw04s/helpdata/de/79/6c9f3f12e1eb0ce10000000a114084/frameset.htm] The DTR commandline tool is located in your NWDS installation folder, subfolder /eclipse/tools/dtr. If the tool is started for the first time, some variables have to be set in the batch-file. -> open dtrshell.bat in an editor of choice. -> check if JAVA_HOME is set correctly. If not set it to your JDK path like this set JAVA_HOME=”G:\tools\java\jdk1.5.0_06″ -> start dtrshell.bat and enter your credentials login dtr tool  You will be connected to the dtr client you created in step 5. ->  available workspaces can be displayed with the workspaces command (note that this screen only shows the DEV part you will probably see more) show workspaces

To report this post you need to login first.

1 Comment

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

Leave a Reply