Skip to Content

The other day I experienced a drive running full, and had to do something to get the messages flowing again before a new disk could be added. I therefore decided to remove some data from the previous days, which was not needed anymore. I therefore changed the deletion retention period to 1 day and archiving also to one day and run the archiving and the deletion jobs to free up space. It was probably not the smartest thing to do, but I felt that I needed to do something. I got a few extra messages through the system. 

After this experience I figured, that needed to know a little more of the deletion and archiving of messages. And to learn it even better I’ll share the information with you.

I see that there are three different jobs and configuration, which can be run.

Archiving:

The archiving will copy the messages to a separate file structure. It is should then be possible to search and browse the content of the archived messages.

image


Deletion:

The deletion will delete the message from the database. It is only the payload which is removed. It means that it is then possible to see which messages have been sent, but the payload cannot be found in the database. It might instead read it from the archive. 

The deletion should be performed after the archiving of messages, otherwise will be deleted and never archived.

image

Normally when deleting entries form at table, there will be created gaps between the entries. This is like what is happening on a file system, where files become fragmented or scattered around the disk. It is there by more difficult for the operating system to read a file because it has to search for all the different parts. The normal Windows utility is the program defragment, which will move the different parts of a file so they are in sequence. On the database there are similarly jobs, which can reorganize data. 

An alternative is to use the Switch Procedure a new table is created, then the data will remain will be copied unto the new table. The original table is then dropped and the temporary table is renamed. This will ensure that the table is always trimmed and does not contain spaces. 

  

Deletion of history:

The last part of deleting is to remove the history information. This will remove the data about the messages, so it is not possible to search for the messages.

image


If messages have failed in the integration engine, they will not be deleted. To get rid of the failed messages first cancel them manually from sxi_monitor. Then after they have been archived they can be deleted.

For more information on how to configure the archiving see Ganesh Kotti  article. It gives is good descriptions of all the steps necessary to archive and delete messages.

Also have a look at  Note 872388 – Troubleshooting Archiving and Deletion in XI 3.0 / PI 7.0. This note describes all the properties in detail.

I how hope that you have got at better overview of the different types of storage.

To report this post you need to login first.

5 Comments

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

    1. Daniel Graversen
      Hi Sreeram,
      Your are right. But I guess that the failed syncronious messages will also be deleted.

      /daniel

      (0) 
  1. Varun K
    Hi Daniel,

    Thanks to your Blog which gives us an overview on Deletion & Achiving in PI and providing relevant stuff(Article and Notes) on the same.

    Regards,
    Varun Reddy

    (0) 
  2. Varun K
    Hi Daniel,

    Thanks to your Blog which gives us an overview on Deletion & Achiving in PI and providing relevant stuff(Article and Notes) on the same.

    Regards,
    Varun Reddy

    (0) 

Leave a Reply