Skip to Content
Author's profile photo Former Member

CCTS 2.01 Data Type Catalogue

When CCTS Version 2.01 was published by UN/CEFACT in 2003, it contained a list of 10 Core Component Types, 20 primary and secondary representation terms, and supporting Content and Supplementary Components.  The Core Component Types were simple data types that were intended to be used as the basis for the development of data types to express the value domain for CCTS leaf elements (Basic Core Components and Basic Business Information Entities).  It was envisioned that the 10 CCTs and the 20 Representation Terms would be used to create a set of 20 unqualified data types and an unlimited amount of qualified (more restricted) data types.  It was also envisioned that future updates to the data types would be published independently of the CCTS specification.

 The recently published CCTS 2.01 Data Type Catalogue delivers on those expectations.  IT republishes the CCTs, Representation Terms, Content and Supplementary Components, and allowed restrictions by primitive data type that were contained in CCTS 2.01.  It also, for the first time, publishes the full set of 20 unqualified data types that were implicitly expressed in CCTS 2.01. These data types have also been expressed as XML schema in support of the UN/CEFACT XML NDR standard.

The UN/CEFACT Applied Technologies Group is responsible for maintaining changes to the data type catalogue and has provided a Data Maintenance Request form for interested parties to submit their requested changes.

 ATG is also working on the CCTS 3.0 data type catalogue which expands the number of data types, and also looks at closer alignment with the data types of the W3C XSD specification.  

You may be asking – why is this important to me?  The simple answer is that the data types are at the core of SAPs use and support of CCTS for the development of its own Global Data Types.  SAP actively participates in the development and maintenance of these data types, and has contributed a number of additional unqualified data types that are under consideration within UN/CEFACT.  Additionally, these unqualified (or Core) data types are the lowest level of data interoperability being created across a wide variety of individual business standards development organizations such as ACORD, CIDX, OAGi, RosettaNet, UBL and others who have adopted, or are in the process of adopting, CCTS and its supporting data types.

Assigned Tags

      Be the first to leave a comment
      You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.