Skip to Content

This blog describes the Data Transfer Process (DTP) feature “Only get delta Once” based on a Scenario and in a Step by Step format.

Scenario:

2 Requests are transferred from a Flat File to the DataSource (PSA) and then to an InfoCube separately. After the second data load, the overlapping first Request loaded with the same selection criteria is removed from the InfoCube automatically. This is necessary, for example, if the source delivers the last status of the key figures only, like a SnapShot of the Source Data.

Tip:

It is recommended to configure the DTP with upload mode “Delta”. The deletion of the PSA data is necessary before each data load, if a “Full” DTP is used. A Full DTP extracts all Requests from the PSA regardless if the data has been already loaded or not. This means the Delta upload via a DTP from the DataSource (PSA) in the InfoCube is necessary, even if the data is loaded via a Full upload from the Source to the DataSource (PSA) by using an InfoPackage.
Additional information can be found in the documentation.

Configuration:

  1. “Delta InfoPackage”

    image Picture 1

  2. “DTP definition”– The ‘Only Get Delta Once’ flag is set.

    image Picture 2

  3. “Process Chain” The Process Chain is created including the process types: (1) Start (2) Execute InfoPackage (3) Delta Data Transfer Process (4) Delete Overlapping Requests from InfoCube

    image Picture 3

    Maintenance of the variant for the Process type “Delete Overlapping Requests image Picture 4Choose “Deletion Selections” image Picture 5Choose “Delete Existing Requests” … The selections are “Same or More Comprehensive” in this example. image Picture 6

  4. “Dataflow”

    image Picture 7

Step by Step:

  1. Initially, the InfoCube is empty.

    image Picture 8

  2. Execute the Process Chain The data is loaded into the PSA and then to the InfoCube Contents of PSA:

    image Picture 9

    Contents of InfoCube: image Picture 10

  3. Execute the Process Chain the second time. The data is loaded into the PSA and then to the InfoCube

    image Picture 11

Result: The old request data has been deleted from the InfoCube and only the new data has been inserted Contents of InfoCube after the data load: image Picture 12

–> get back to the DTP Blog Series … SAP NetWeaver 7.0 BI: Data Transfer Process (DTP) / Blog Series

To report this post you need to login first.

11 Comments

You must be Logged on to comment or reply to a post.

  1. Sriee Khumar
    Dear Michael,
        Very useful blog. It has given more clarity to my understanding abt DTP and has wiped out some assumptions that I had about DTP, especially the Tip that you have provided.

    I found a trivial correction though. In step 2, you have mentioned “Get Delta by Request” instead of “Only Get Delta Once” by mistake obviously.

    Best Regards,
    Sriee

    (0) 
      1. Andreas Juettner
        Hi Michael,

        the procedure you describe is definitely what I expect and probably also the way how it worked before SP18. Unfortunately, since SP18 the deletion of overlapping requests only allows you to refer to full DTPs (see SAP note 1147766). In other words: If you use a delta DTP, it is not possible anymore to define a deletion of overlapping requests in a process chain, as you don’t find the DTP in the list using F4 search. In my understanding, this restriction makes no sense, because “delta” only means the PSA stack but not the extracted data from the source system, which yet could be delivered in full mode.

        I see 2 work around solutions:
        (1) Use a full DTP. But this enforces you to delete all corresponding PSA requests in order to avoid multiple updating to the cube. This PSA deletion might again not be desired.
        (2) Revert back to BW 3.x objects, i.e. InfoPackage + transfer rules + update rules and define the deletion related to the InfoPackage.

        Both work arounds are not ideal solutions. Can you advice if there is a way to combine the usage of delta DTPs with the deletion of overlapping requests.

        Thank you.
        Andreas

        (0) 
  2. venkat s
    hi,
    i didnt understand the scenario,the pictures r telling me that u r doing ‘get delta by once’
    can u explain me the scenario for which ur doing
    sorry i didnt understand
    (0) 
  3. amit shenoy
    Hi,

    Overall a good blog , but still leaves a lot of gray areas, if you can explain from the request level perspective its easier to understand.

    From the picture shots , it could have been achieved with full and delete of PSA rather than get delta once.

    Hope you will come out with another blog as a follow up to this one.

    thanks
    amit

    (0) 
    1. Anonymous
      Hi Amit, thanks a lot for your comment!!!
      I believe that you can achieve this scenario by deleting the PSA only. But in this scenario the system deletes the overlapping request from the InfoCube automatically and you can keep the data in the PSA for further processing.
      If I have time, I will go into more detail…
      Sorry if I confuse you. Thanks a lot, Michael
      (0) 
      1. Pradeep R
        Hello Michael,
        The above pictoral example is not clear. Could you be more precise. I am all confused now.

        If the option “Only Get Delta Once”, deletes the data in the Infoprovider automatically, then why have you put the picture 5, which shows the deletion of comprehensive records.

        ???

        thanks

        (0) 
  4. Aaron Wang
    Obviously a nice blog. But unfortunately I don’t quite understand this scenario. What’s more, I think the result will be same even if the “Only get Delta Once” is not chosen? The upload the deletion are all done by the process chain.
    Hope someone could correct me if my understanding is wrong.

    Regards,
    Aaron

    (0) 
    1. Anonymous
      Hi Aaron,
      If you do not choose “Only get Delta Once” the deleted request will be loaded with the next delta load.
      Please correct me, if I’m wrong.
      Thanks Michael
      (0) 
  5. Abhishek Rathore
    Hi Michael

    Nice Blog, I was looking for some information on this setting as the standard SAP help was not crystal clear.

    As I get, if you use this setting “Only Get Delta Once”, and if the request is deleted from the Data Target, it’s still not pulled again from the Source. It would have pulled the request again from Source if this option was not selected. Correct me if I am wrong.

    If my understanding is correct, I think a bit more detailed explanation in the last section “Step by Step” comparing what would have happened without selecting the option will help everyone.

    Nice Blog anyways

    Regards
    Abhishek

    (0) 

Leave a Reply